Phases of Database recovery | SansSQL

Friday, July 27, 2012

Phases of Database recovery

From my previous post “What happens when a SQL Server instance is restarted?” we know what activities will be carried out when the SQL Server instance gets restart request.
Now, it’s time to understand what recovery phases the database will undergo.
The databases undergo recovery phases in two scenarios
  1. When the SQL server  or service is restarted
  2. When the database is being restored.
There are 3 Phases of Recovery and are based on the last checkpoint in the transaction log.

Recovery Phases - Drill Down

Recovery Phases - Graphical


Post a Comment